Conservatives win Wealden


Nus Ghani has been re-elected as the MP for Wealden. This is the third election win for Nus Ghani since she first stood in the constituency in 2015 (replacing retiring Charles Hendry). The number of votes recorded were as follows:

Nus GhaniConservative37,04360.8%-0.4
Chris BowersLiberal Democrat11,38818.7%8.3
Angela SmithLabour9,37715.4%-6.8
Georgia TaylorGreen3,0995.1%1.8

The turnout was 73.84% (74.40% in 2017).

The number of registered voters this time was 82,998 (up by 1,573 from 2017).

There were 365 rejected ballot papers, three times the number spoilt in 2017.

You can watch the thank you speeches from all the candidates here – courtesy of Uckfield FM. Nus Ghani speaks last:

Comparison to 2017

In 2017, Nichola Burton stood for UKIP and received 1,798 votes.

The number of votes for Liberal Democrat candidate Chris Bowers increased by 5,107, taking him from third to second place. Angie Smith for Labour lost 4,022 votes. The Green Party result increased by 1,140. The Conservative vote increased by 16.

The results in 2017 were:

Nus GhaniConservative37,02761.2%
Angela SmithLabour13,39922.2%
Chris BowersLiberal Democrat6,28110.4%
Colin StocksGreen1,9593.2%
Nichola BurtonUKIP1,7983.0%


To make sure you are among the first to know what is going on in Crowborough - SUBSCRIBE to receive our email Newsletter.

Please click for more info.

Share Your Views